The District awards communities with outstanding or significantly improved recycling programs; buinesses or organizations who excel in reducing, reusing or recycling; and schools, educators and students who have made an outstanding contribution to recycling education in Hamilton county.

The 2016 Recycling Award recipients are:

  • Best City Recycler - City of Wyoming
  • Best Twp Recycler - Anderson Township
  • Best Village Recycler - Village of Mariemont
  • Innovative Community Recycling Program Award - Springfield, Colerain, and Ross Townships
  • Partner of the Year - Civic Garden Center of Greater Cincinnati
  • Recycling at Work Program of the Year - Southwest Ohio Regional Transit Authority
  • Excellence in Reuse Award - Salvation Army of Greater Cincinnati
  • Innovation in Waste Reduction Award - Patheon, Inc.
  • Excellence in Public Recycling - Great Parks of Hamilton County
  • Outstanding School Recycling Program - St. Teresa of Avila
  • Outstanding Recycling Educator - Patrick J. Ormond, Amity Elementary
  • Student Recycler of the Year - Daymajai Rogers
  • Friend of Recycling - Indigo Hippo
  • Sustainability Award for a Restaurateur - Cristian and Amanda Pietoso
  • The John Van Volkenburgh Award for Recycling Innovation - La Soupe