Residential Recycling Statistics

Residential Recycling in Hamilton County Communities

Forty-eight different political jurisdictions fall within the Hamilton County Recycling and Solid Waste District and almost all provide some form of recycling for their residents.

The recycling rate is the percentage of all waste that is recycled and is calculated as follows: Recycling Rate = Tons of Recyclables/(Tons of Waste + Tons of Recyclables) 


 *2013: Rumpke Recycling improved accuracy for calculating recycling drop-off tonnage leading to a decrease in reported residential tons recycled.

See this link for help in increasing your community's diversion rate. (In 2018, Hamilton County switched from recycling rate to diversion rate. Diversion rate includes yard trimming and recycling tonnage.)

Below is a table that shows the top ten Hamilton County community's diversion rates for 2020:

Ranking Community Diversion Rate
1 Amberley 59.9%
2 Mariemont 55.8%
3 Terrace Park 49.6%
4 Wyoming 45.2%
5 Montgomery 36.5%
6 Indian Hill 34.5%
7 Woodlawn 31.9%
8 Blue Ash 31.8%
9 Madeira 29.7%
10 Glendale 29.6%

The map below illustrates the 2020 diversion rate and tons recycled for Hamilton County communities. Diversion rates include yard waste. (Information below is updated in early April every year.)